Hillman

William Hillman started his business around 1870; it was specialized in engines for cycles. (The Hillman Herbert Cycle cy) In 1907 he started a venture with Louis Coatalen (French designer) and founded the “Hillman-Coatalen Motor Car Cy” wich created the Hillman-Coatalen car.

Shortly hereafter they decided to split again. Coatalen started making cars under his own brand: SUNBEAM! Hillman focused from now on at the small to medium class cars. The most popular he ever created became the “Minx”; this car was presented at the Olympia motor show in 1931.

The badge above, was for the first time used on the Hillman Minx of 1934. It symbolizes the three most famous spires of the Coventry churches: St Michaels, The Grey Friars Church and the Holy Trinity Church. Hence the often used name of this town: town of the three spires! The winged emblem was first seen on a car in 1928.

Hillman

William Hillman acquit ses premières expériences en bicyclettes chez les « Coventry Machinists » et ensuite chez « The Hillman & Herbert Cycle Cy » ou il produisit des moteurs pour bicyclettes. En 1907 il s’associa avec Louis Coatalen ( créateur Français) et fonda la « Hillman-Coatalen Motor Car Cy », qui produisit les voitures Hillman-Coatalen.

Peu après les deux se séparèrent à nouveau. Coatalen décida de produire des voitures hez Sunbeam. Hillman se concentra à produire des petites voitures populaires et moyennes. La plus populaire fût la « Minx » , introduite en 1931 lors du salon automobile de l’Olympia.

L’emblème ci-dessus figura sur les « Minx » de 1934-38. Il représente les trois tours d’église de Coventry (Souvent l’on parle de Coventry comme The city of the three spires) c.a.d. St Michael, l’église des « Grey Friars » et l’église de la Sainte Trinité. L’emblème ailé apparût pour la première fois sur les Hillman de 1928.